GivingArc Nonprofit accounting Service

Nonprofit Bookkeeping Services Compared: 9 Firms + What They Publish on Price (2026)

A side-by-side comparison table of nine nonprofit bookkeeping firms with a highlighted pricing column showing which firms publish rates.
Disclosure. GivingArc is one of the nine firms in this comparison. Statements about other firms are taken from those firms’ own websites and linked, as checked on September 3, 2026; phrases in quotation marks are verbatim. One site, Chazin & Company, blocks automated reading, so its row is drawn from its search-indexed page text and its public chamber-of-commerce listing. Where we write “no price published,” no dollar figure appeared on the linked page that day. Prices and claims change; the links let you verify.

If you have been asked by your board to “get a few quotes” for nonprofit bookkeeping services, you already know the shape of the afternoon ahead: nine tabs open, nine pages that describe the same monthly close in different words, and not one of them telling you what it costs. We have sat on the other side of that search often enough to know the feeling. So this page does the reading for you, and it starts with the one column most comparisons leave blank.

Key Takeaways

  • Of nine nonprofit bookkeeping services compared here, seven do not publish a price at all. Foundation Group publishes a starting price of $375 per month; GivingArc publishes a full table from $300 to $1,950 per month with a calculator. Everything else is a quote request.
  • Three of the nine firms state on their own websites that they are not CPA firms. That is not a flaw for bookkeeping, but it matters if you expected the same firm to perform your audit. Attestation is a separate engagement everywhere.
  • Focus varies more than the marketing suggests. Seven firms work with nonprofits only; two serve businesses with a nonprofit service line. Fund accounting, restricted gifts, and Form 990 are daily work at the first group and exceptions at the second.
  • Location tells you less than you might expect. Five of the nine firms describe remote or nationwide delivery; the other four name a set of cities, a local-partner model, a single address, or only a phone number. The practical question is not where the firm sits but how it delivers the monthly close and who reviews it.
  • Every fact in this comparison is taken from the firm’s own website and linked, as of September 2026, with one site that blocks automated reading noted as such. GivingArc is included on the same terms as the others, and we say so at the top rather than in a footnote.

The nonprofit bookkeeping services comparison table

Five columns, nine firms, no scores. We did not rank anyone, because a ranking would only tell you which firm we like, and you did not come here for that. You came for the facts that are hard to collect in one place. Sort them however your situation demands.

FirmWhat it publishes on priceClient size it namesLocation and deliveryCPA status and credentials
JitasaNo price published; quote request (instant quote form)Tiers: under $500K, $500K–$5M, over $5M gross receiptsNationwide; cloud-based, remoteNo CPA credential stated on page; B Corp
Your Part-Time Controller (YPTC)No price publishedNot statedMore than a dozen office locations listed; remote available“YPTC is not a CPA firm” (its words)
The Charity CFONo price published“Grassroots organizations to national nonprofits”Seven named markets (St. Louis, Kansas City, Minneapolis, Charlotte, Columbus, Indianapolis, Nashville)None stated on homepage; About page identifies the founder as a CPA
Chazin & CompanyNo price found (site blocks automated reading; see note)Not statedNashville, TN; serves nonprofits across the USCNAP-certified accountants
Foundation Group“Starting At $375 per month”; final price by service level$10,000 to $10,000,000+ annual gross incomeNashville; all 50 states; US-based bookkeepersElite QuickBooks ProAdvisor; IRS e-file provider
Supporting StrategiesNo price published — “budget that works best for your business”Small to mid-sized businesses“100% U.S. Based”; local partner model“Supporting Strategies is not a CPA firm” (its words)
Nonprofit BookkeepingNo price publishedNot statedGrand Chute, WIQuickBooks Online Certified ProAdvisor
GrowthForceNo price published (links to a cost article)“Businesses of all sizes”Not stated; phone only“GrowthForce is not a CPA Firm” (its words)
GivingArc this siteFull table published: $300–$1,950/mo + calculator; Form 990-EZ from $500, Form 990 from $1,500Small and mid-size 501(c)(3)s; $3M+ quoted individuallyRemote, nationwide (US)Dedicated team with CPA oversight; not an attestation (audit) firm

Checked September 3, 2026. “Its words” marks a phrase quoted verbatim from the firm’s own site. Firm names link to the page we read.

A three-column diagram showing that seven of nine nonprofit bookkeeping firms publish no price, one publishes a starting price, and one publishes a full price table.

How we compared the nine firms

We chose the firms the same way a treasurer would find them: the ones that appear when you search for nonprofit bookkeeping services, the ones other comparison articles keep naming, and the ones AI assistants recommend when asked who to hire. That produced this list. It is not exhaustive, and a good local firm may not be on it.

For each firm we read its own website on the same day and recorded five things: whether it publishes a price, what client size it names, where it is and how it delivers, what it says about CPA status, and whether it works with nonprofits only. Phrases in quotation marks are verbatim; everything else is a plain summary of what the page says. One site, Chazin & Company, blocks automated reading, so its row relies on its search-indexed page text and its public chamber-of-commerce listing. GivingArc’s row is our own statement about ourselves, with the pricing figures on our pricing page. We did not use review sites, third-party rankings, or our own opinion of anyone’s work. If a firm’s page did not say something, the table says “not stated” rather than guessing.

One column needs a note. “Not a CPA firm” appears three times because three firms say it themselves, usually in a footer. It is an honest disclosure, not a warning. A bookkeeping firm without CPA attestation can keep excellent books; what it cannot do is audit them. If you will need an audit or review, that is a separate engagement with a separate firm in every case on this list, including ours.

Firm by firm, in their own words

Jitasa

Lists bookkeeping and accounting, controller and CFO services, Form 990 and state tax filings, audit prep, bill pay, grant management, and payroll coordination. Serves nonprofits nationwide with a cloud-based system, and sorts clients into three tiers by annual gross receipts: under $500K, $500K to $5M, and over $5M. Pricing is by request through an instant quote form; no dollar figure appears on the page. The site references B Corp certification; no CPA credential is stated on the services page.

Your Part-Time Controller (YPTC)

Lists accounting and month-end close, bookkeeping, financial reporting, grant management, budgeting and forecasting, audit preparation, data visualization, board meeting attendance, and fractional CFO roles. Its locations page lists more than a dozen offices, and the firm will “partner with your organization remotely.” No client size is named and no pricing appears on the site. The site states: “YPTC is not a CPA firm, and provides no attestation services with regard to financial reports.”

The Charity CFO

Lists bookkeeping, accounting, grant management, budgeting and forecasting, audit assistance, system migration, and tax preparation, for organizations “from grassroots organizations to national nonprofits.” Names seven markets it serves: St. Louis, Kansas City, Minneapolis, Charlotte, Columbus, Indianapolis, and Nashville. No pricing appears on the homepage, and no professional credential is named there; its About page identifies the founder as a CPA.

Chazin & Company

Describes outsourced accounting and finance services exclusively for nonprofit organizations across the United States, and more than twenty years serving nonprofits exclusively. Services listed are accounting and bookkeeping, CFO services, and advisory. Its accountants are described as CNAP certified. The firm lists a Nashville, Tennessee address. Its website blocks automated reading, so these points come from its search-indexed page text and its public chamber-of-commerce listing; we found no price in either.

Foundation Group

Lists monthly bank reconciliation, financial statements, year-end 1099-NEC preparation, and direct access to a QuickBooks ProAdvisor-certified bookkeeper, with QuickBooks Online setup. Serves “All 50 US States & Territories” with US-based bookkeepers and names a client range of $10,000 to $10,000,000+ in annual gross income. This is the one firm besides GivingArc that publishes a number: “Starting At $375 per month,” with “Final pricing is determined by service level required.” The page also cites “30+ Years Serving Nonprofits” and Elite QuickBooks ProAdvisor status.

Supporting Strategies

A bookkeeping firm for small and mid-sized businesses that lists nonprofits among the industries it serves. Describes itself as “100% U.S. Based” with a partner in your local community. Pricing is not published; the site says it will “develop a solution package and budget that works best for your business.” The site states: “Supporting Strategies is not a CPA firm.”

Nonprofit Bookkeeping

Lists bookkeeping, “5-Minute Financials” reporting, and “Strategic Financials” fractional CFO work. Based in Grand Chute, Wisconsin, and cites “20+ years of nonprofit accounting experience” and QuickBooks Online Certified ProAdvisor status. No dollar figure appears on the homepage; no client size is named.

GrowthForce

Offers “Outsourced Accounting for Service Businesses and Nonprofits,” covering bookkeeping, controller, and management accounting for “businesses of all sizes.” The homepage links to an article on what outsourced accounting costs but publishes no price itself, and gives a phone number rather than a location. The site states: “GrowthForce is not a CPA Firm,” and cites over 35 years of outsourced accounting experience.

GivingArc this site

Monthly bookkeeping and Form 990 preparation for small and mid-size 501(c)(3)s, in QuickBooks Online, remotely nationwide. Publishes a full price table, $300 to $1,950 per month, with a calculator. Every plan includes a monthly board-ready financial report written for non-accountants, with board questions answered by email, so the board understands the numbers without the executive director explaining them or the accountant attending the meeting: fewer hours on both sides and no attendance fee. Dedicated team with CPA oversight; not an attestation firm.

Why almost no one publishes a price

Seven of nine firms ask you to request a quote, and it is worth understanding why before you judge it. A quote lets a firm price the actual work: an organization with four grants and restricted funds is more work than one with none, and a single sticker price would either overcharge the simple client or undercharge the complex one. The custom quote is the industry’s answer to that problem, and it is a reasonable answer.

The cost of that answer lands on you. You cannot budget until you have talked to a salesperson, and you cannot compare firms until you have talked to several. It is a bit like a restaurant with no prices on the menu: the food may be excellent, but every table has to ask, and nobody can plan the evening in advance.

There is a middle path, and two firms on this list have taken it in different degrees. A published starting price tells you the floor. A published table tells you the floor, the ceiling, and what moves the number in between, which is what a board actually needs before it votes. We built our pricing page that way because the inputs that set a bookkeeping fee, receipts, transactions, grants, and restricted funds, are things you can read off your own books, so there is no reason to hide the arithmetic. If you want to see what the industry publishes as typical ranges, our Form 990 cost guide and the pricing page both cite them with dates.

A diagram showing four inputs, annual receipts, monthly transactions, active grants, and restricted funds, combining into a single monthly bookkeeping rate.

See your monthly rate before you talk to anyone

Four inputs, one number, no signup. The same table this comparison describes.

Open the calculator →

How to choose from this list

Start with the one question the table cannot answer for you: what do you need the firm to be? If you need books kept and reports delivered, any nonprofit-focused firm here can do that, and the deciding factors become price, responsiveness, and whether they work in the software you already use. If you need a controller or a fractional CFO, the firms that list those roles, Jitasa, YPTC, The Charity CFO, Chazin, and Nonprofit Bookkeeping, are the ones to call first. If you need an audit, none of these firms is your auditor, and you should read which engagement you actually need before you call anyone.

Then ask each firm the three things this table could not: who does the work day to day, who reviews it before you see it, and what happens when your bookkeeper leaves. The answers separate firms far more than their websites do. Our guide to bookkeeper, accountant, and CPA roles explains what each answer should sound like, and if you are leaving a current provider, this switching guide covers the handoff.

One more question belongs on the list: what happens at your board meeting? Many organizations ask their accountant to attend every month because the board cannot read the financial statements without a walkthrough, and when the accountant is not there, the executive director gives it. One firm here, YPTC, lists board meeting attendance as a service. GivingArc takes the other route. Every plan includes a monthly board report written for non-accountants, delivered as a PDF to the executive director, with questions from board members answered by email. The report is drafted with AI tools after donor and personal information has been removed, then reviewed by the accounting team before it goes out; organizations that prefer it can have the report produced on a local model that never leaves our systems, with simpler formatting and the same content. The point is time and cost on both sides: no accountant hour spent at the meeting, no director hour spent explaining, and no attendance fee on the invoice.

Finally, decide what you will do with a firm that will not name a price. That is not a reason to rule it out; it may be the right firm. It is a reason to get the quote in writing, with the inputs it was based on, so that when your transaction count grows you know what changes. A quote that cannot explain itself is a quote that will surprise you later. For a fuller walk through the in-house-versus-firm decision, see when to outsource nonprofit accounting.

Want the version of this table with your numbers in it?

GivingArc handles monthly bookkeeping and Form 990 preparation for small and mid-size nonprofits, with the price published first.

Talk to us →

Frequently Asked Questions

Questions treasurers and executive directors ask when comparing nonprofit bookkeeping services.

Of the nine firms in this comparison, one publishes a starting price (Foundation Group, from $375 per month with final pricing set by service level) and one publishes a full price table with a calculator (GivingArc, $300 to $1,950 per month). The other seven ask you to request a quote. All figures are as of September 2026 and taken from each firm’s own website.

Not necessarily. Several bookkeeping firms state plainly on their sites that they are not CPA firms and do not provide attestation services such as audits. That is a legitimate model for bookkeeping and monthly reporting. If you need an audit or review, you will engage a separate CPA firm regardless of who keeps your books.

Published starting prices in this comparison begin at $300 per month (GivingArc) and $375 per month (Foundation Group). Other firms quote individually. The monthly rate is usually driven by transaction volume, the number of active grants, and whether restricted funds must be tracked separately.

Nonprofit-only firms are built around fund accounting, restricted gifts, and Form 990, which generalist bookkeepers often handle as exceptions. In this comparison Jitasa, YPTC, The Charity CFO, Chazin, Foundation Group, Nonprofit Bookkeeping, and GivingArc describe themselves as nonprofit-focused; Supporting Strategies and GrowthForce serve nonprofits alongside businesses.

Yes. GivingArc is included in the table with the same five fact categories as every other firm, and its profile is no longer than the longest competitor entry. Claims about other firms are taken from those firms’ own websites and linked; one site blocks automated reading, and we say so where it applies. Where we say a firm does not publish pricing, that means no dollar figure appeared on the linked page on the date shown.

Usually the accountant is asked to attend because the board cannot read the financial statements without a walkthrough, and otherwise the executive director has to give it. GivingArc addresses that with a monthly board-ready report written for non-accountants, included in every plan from $300 per month, delivered as a PDF to the executive director, with board questions answered by email. The report is prepared with AI tools after personal and donor information is removed, and reviewed by the team before delivery; a local-model option is available for organizations that want nothing sent to an outside AI service. Among the firms compared here, YPTC lists board meeting attendance as a service.

GivingArc provides bookkeeping, Form 990 preparation, and nonprofit-specialized accounting for small and mid-size 501(c)(3) organizations across the US. This comparison summarizes each firm’s own published statements as of September 3, 2026, quotes verbatim only where marked, and does not evaluate the quality of any firm’s work. Reviewed by Min Kim, CPA.